Which side of the mirror?

Me again (yes, I know, two in one day! Promise this will be it for bit).

I don’t like doing self-indulgent on here. Tried once or twice when I first started blogging and you just come across as poser-ish (at least that’s how it read to me). Wrote the following to a friend on deviantART just now, however, and felt I wanted to share it further.

To give you some context, we’ve been chatting about a recent journal on depthRADIUS concerning an artist who recently died. You can find the article in question here and the artist in question’s profile here. Vicky’s question (‘what did the article say to you?’) made me think, and after writing the below I found I wanted to share it further.

What, after all, is the point of having a blog if not for expressing your thoughts and feelings? (Yes I know I’m contradicting myself!)

Anyway, here’s what I wrote. Ta for listening.

‘Hey…

Sorry for the tardiness of my reply.

Spotted your response this morning, actually came up with a nice eloquent reply this afternoon on my way to Asda.
Obviously, that has now disappeared.

Let me try and piece something together in its place. I reckon that for me, reading the article and looking at her art – ooh! inspiration (sorry). Idea has returned, here goes:

Reading the article and looking at her art, I was reminded of the Buffy episode set in the mental asylum? Where you’re left wondering whether it is all, in fact a delusion, and she’s imagining it all. At the end of the episode, if memory serves, she chooses to go back into the delusion (which you’re questioningly left to believe is in fact reality?). What this woman went through made me think of that: that she chose to place herself within her own fantasy environment. An act some may disagree with, but a decision that was valid for her. And the resultant art is so beautiful and haunting, I think, because of that decision, that sacrifice (? – not sure if that’s the right word).
She (I get the impression) was very aware of the fact that her choice, and her road, were not ‘normal’, but it was right for her. This is the thing that spoke to me, as indeed the works of Neil Gaiman and Tori Amos (amongst others) speak to me. Because they are produced by people who have taken a different road.

Hope that makes sense? Nice to let my inner Goth out for a change.

Putting my Troy wig away now.

Chat soon, Paul.’

Leave a Reply

