Coming out

‘Pass me a soap box…Really?!? And she’s frolicking with an octopus? Is that pink glitter I spy…

Ah well, needs must…’

Ahem.

It’s not very often I do this sort of thing, so I’ll keep it short and sweet. It would have been sooner, but the new year seems to have picked up quite a pace, and we’re already in February.

Anyway, I digress…

I wanted to write a short piece on how lovely it is to see unfussy gayness (for want of a better word – I’ve always thought homosexuality to be far too stuffy) on television. There have been two instances in particular that have caught my eye over recent months. The first happened (I think) way back in 2012, when Alan Carr had Gok Wan over as a guest for his talk show, Chatty Man. It was genuinely heart warming to see two queens chatting so openly on national television. Not obviously (read ‘sexually’), mind; there was nothing (too) lewd said, to my memory, but at the same time there was no attempt by the show’s producers to gloss over, or tone them down.

It was really sweet.

The second was the new E4 show The New Normal. The show’s unbothered (Catherine Tate moment – sorry) approach to its subject matter is so refreshing. There’s no pomp and circumstance, no stilted delivery. I was as much a fan of Queer as Folk when it came out (no pun intended) as the next gay man, but I did always feel the show’s excellent writing (*doffs hat to Mr D) was let down somewhat by the very staged, and quite aggressive handling of its moments of intimacy and sexual contact. One was left rather with the impression the actors viewed such scenes as akin to jumping in an outdoor swimming pool in October. The two guys in The New Normal are just so much more natural in their intimacy. Not to say that it’s a better show by any means – Queer as Folk will forever reign as a milestone, but still…

My point here is that it’s both reassuring and refreshing to see what would, even ten years ago, have been viewed as a little risque, now being freely broadcast without fear of reprisal from the censors, or the viewing public.

We’ve come a long way, baby.

Leave a Reply

